Kreativ Blogger Award – Paying it Forward

I recently received a lovely unbirthday gift from fellow blogger (and clever commenter) armchairauthor – a nomination for the Kreativ Blogger Award. My duties as a nominee are simple: first I am to tell you ten random things about myself that you may not know; second, I am to nominate ten of my favorite bloggers for the Kreativ Blogger Award; and third (I made this one up but I think it’s fitting), I am to direct your attention to armchairauthor’s fabulously astute blog about everything books. A recent gem: The Wisdom of the Fool Won’t Set You Free: Love Triangles in YA Lit

Ten Answers to Your Unasked Questions

  1. I believe wine bottles and books are absolutely to be judged by their cover
  2. I can identify any episode of Friends by one line of dialogue
  3. I don’t eat salads on principle
  4. I’m that friend of a friend of your cousin’s step-brother that actually used poison oak as toilet paper
  5. I collect Absolut ads and have over 500 from various countries
  6. My first job was decorating other people’s Christmas trees (the secret is to use 100 lights per foot)
  7. I’m madly in love with Andrew McCarthy and John Cusack and any other adorkable wavy-haired 80s icon who shunned their social status in the name of love
  8. I bring home a piece of art and a Christmas ornament from every country I visit
  9. I’m from Chicago but I like my pizza crust thin and my hot dogs plain
  10. When I write left handed the words come out as a mirror image of themselves

Ten Blogs You Should Be Reading

  1. Maximum Wage: An amusing perspective on just about everything
  2. The Food and Wine Hedonist: More reasons to drink and eat than you knew you needed
  3. Notquiteold: An unapologetic look at growing gracefully for those at any age
  4. Live, Nerd, Repeat: Great writing, great comics, great insights
  5. Cravesadventure: This blog will take you away to somewhere you’d rather be
  6. Paul Before Swine: “Pearls or wisdom, opinion, and things left unsaid”
  7.  Lorna’s Voice: What she doesn’t say is just as funny as what she does
  8. Nancy Francis: From travel to food to granny panties – this blog has a little bit of everything
  9. My 30-Something Life: Exactly like it sounds but in a good way
  10. Go Guilty Pleasures: A new favorite – any friend of guilty pleasures is a friend of mine

Thanks again for the nomination, and thanks to my fellow bloggers for the consistently great reads!

About WhiteElephantInTheRoom

I'm an 80s music lover, traveling junkie, mac & cheese connoisseur, amateur wine snob, party-planning priestess and Chicago transplant living in Southern California. I find adventure in the everyday and have a unending compulsion to write about it. Hope you enjoy reading my mind!
This entry was posted in Commentary, Humor, Life, Social Media, Uncategorized, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kreativ Blogger Award – Paying it Forward

  1. gojulesgo says:

    How awesome is this?! Thank you so much! I know I’ve seen your blog before, and don’t know why you’re not in my reader?! (That’s about to change!) I want to comment on all 10 of your answers, but that could get unwieldy. Suffice it to say, I’ve seen a lot of ‘things you might not know about me’ lists before, and this is definitely one of the best!

  2. Thanks a bunch for the nomination. I did a post on this a couple weeks ago. It was pretty tough doing the list but I’m game for doing it again! Keep up the good work… Here’s my other list, in case this one takes me a while… http://foodandwinehedonist.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/ten-facts-about-the-hedonist/

  3. nancyfrancis says:

    Aww shucks, I’m blushing now. Very un-Leo like for me to be bashful, maybe its just an act?

    Since starting blogging almost a year ago, and randomly discovering your blog shortly thereafter – yours remains one of the few blog subscriptions I haven’t deleted and continues to entertain me 🙂

  4. MaximumWage says:

    Well gosh darn it if you aren’t a regular little hayley joel osment paying it forward. So this means I’m the horribly burned teacher or an alcoholic mother… SO WHICH AM I?! For reals thanks for doing this. Guess I should do my own. 🙂

  5. Pingback: While I Was Away… « Paul Before Swine

  6. Pingback: I Feel like Meryl Streep « The Food and Wine Hedonist

Leave a Reply

