Don’t Ride the Sea Turtles: A Lesson in Scuba Diving

Thanks to my mother’s 1980s crush on Harry Hamlin, I spent my early childhood on Clash of the Titans overkill – resulting in both a mistrust of men with really long beards and a healthy fear of the sea. But when I booked a trip to Fiji’s Coral Coast, I realized it was time to muster the courage to scuba dive.

Initially, it was only anticipated Voice of Unreason from my appalled friends of, “you went all the way to the warm, coral-lined waters of Fiji and you didn’t go scuba diving!?!” that gave me a nudge; but ultimately, it was the sixth glass of cabernet that sealed the deal.

So I did it. And for those of you considering the same fate, here’s a little knowledge I retained from the experience:

Don’t Ride the Sea Turtles: Their massive shelves are just screaming for a saddle, but you must sign a waiver pledging not to “harass the sea life.” As I assumed a breach of contract resulted in the release of the Kraken, I reluctantly obeyed. Not worth it.

Don’t Hum the Theme to Jaws: It makes people oddly uncomfortable. But if you do actually see a shark, creating a fin with your hand on your head is apparently an appropriate gesture.

Don’t Hold Your Breath: Although it’s initially quite scary, you eventually get used to sounding like Darth Vader using a water pipe.

Don’t Smile for Pictures: It’s terribly salty.

Don’t Sit on the Coral: Coral is the “your fajita skillet is extremely hot” of the sea. You know you shouldn’t touch it, but damn it’s tempting. When they later pour vinegar over your gaping wounds you finally get the picture.

Don’t Get on a Plane Within 24-48 Hours of a Dive: Fortunately I did not learn this the hard way, I just once saw a really gruesome episode of House.

In the end, it was an absolutely incredible experience and I intend to get certified on my next trip. Until then, I’m going to scale back my underwater adventure movie-watching to the Disney variety.

About WhiteElephantInTheRoom

I'm an 80s music lover, traveling junkie, mac & cheese connoisseur, amateur wine snob, party-planning priestess and Chicago transplant living in Southern California. I find adventure in the everyday and have a unending compulsion to write about it. Hope you enjoy reading my mind!
This entry was posted in 80s, Family, Fitness, Friends, Health, Holidays, Humor, international travel, Life, Life Lessons, Movies, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Don’t Ride the Sea Turtles: A Lesson in Scuba Diving

  1. Loving the post – thanks for sharing:)

    • Alejandro says:

      Amish – if only they stayed on the beach so long! you can tell they can hear the waves cianhrsg and want to get out of the bucket as fast as they can. The second you put them on the beach they rush towards the water.

  2. elarenee89 says:

    Don’t Hum the Theme to Jaws: Hahahaha… When I went I was totally humming it to the guy I went with and he was like stop its not funny lol. The other thing i so agree with was the airplane ride back home. My ears hurt so bad! I was very unconfortable and my ears actually hurt for a few days after. Talk about not cool! Any ways I loved this post! 😀

  3. baileymoro says:

    Don’t sit on the coral-Ouch.

  4. Mhmd says:

    Deb Franklin – pick me to go pick me to go! I’ll pay you!! Having spent my birthday there in April with my anmzig husband, I can thoroughly relate to Zac’s new-found love of Paris. I can tell you almost to the exact arondissent where you were in each picture (didn’t you love Monmartre?!) welcome back, and thank you for sharing this wonderful adventure with us, and inspiring us to conintue our travels in this oh-so-very-small world warmest regards!

  5. Jennifer Rhodes says:

    Loved your post. Makes me want to put on scuba gear and dive on under.

  6. We recently moved to the beach and plan on taking lessons. These rules of the sea are worth memorizing. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

