White Elephant

As you can infer by the title of my blog, I’m fascinated by the concept of the white elephant. Once upon a time it referred to possessions too valuable to part with, but also too burdensome for their worth (as a big ole white elephant would be). But these days, the proverbial white elephant tends to be more of the gaudy-glass-pelican-figurine-in-the-back-of-your-closet variety. For the purposes of both my blog title, and the fabulous white elephant exchanges in which we partake this time of year, I consider white elephants to be those things we spend a heck of a lot of time thinking about, but really just don’t matter.

With the gift-giving season in full swing, the stress of finding the perfect gift for the people you care about is overshadowed by that of finding gifts for the people you don’t care about at all. You have party hosts, coworkers, neighbors, and other randoms in your life that you will undoubtedly want to provide with the obligatory bottle of wine or fruitcake. But is it tacky to give them the candy dish that your best friend’s mom gave you last year? Is it enough to bake six dozen reindeer-shaped cookies and call it a day? We need to take the stress out of the most un-thoughtful gifts we give during the holidays, so I’ve crafted some guidelines to help you get through another season of white elephants:

1. DO give last year’s candy dish. It gives them something to give away the following year so you’re really doing them a favor.

2. DO give fruitcake. It’s so cliché it’s almost trendy.

3. DO give cheap wine. They’ll be getting twenty other bottles anyways. Just wrap it sans tag, toss it in the jungle of wines on their bar and you’re all set!

4. DON’T run out and get a gift for a coworker the day after they give you something. They’re already onto the fact that you didn’t “accidentally” leave their gift at home, so save your cash and just say thank you.

5. DON’T pay for a white elephant gift for your office exchange. That Grease 2 VHS tape with the plastic wrap still on it will do just fine.

6. DO bring cookies to a party. The hostess feels like she got a thoughtful gift and you get to eat them. Win-win.

7. DON’T make your gift. Save your blood, sweat and tears for grandma’s new quilt, not for the neighbor’s coupon book offering to mow their lawn or sit their kids.

8. DON’T participate in Secret Santa gift exchanges with “randoms.” That’s how you end up getting a gold necklace with a blindingly blingy four-inch tall B hanging from it.

9. DO give candles. Ever notice how people love giving candles? Giving candles is apparently the most rewarding feeling. I’m not sure if people enjoy receiving candles, but heck it’s all about you! And besides, IKEA has ’em for like four cents. If I had a candle for every time I got a candle…

10. DON’T send Christmas cards to everyone. If they aren’t worth a fruitcake they aren’t worth a stamp. And that forty-something cents will buy you a LOT of candles.

So when it comes to your mother, your children, your best friend, or any white elephant party where your integrity as a clever gifter is at stake, it’s best to go big. But if you’re lying awake at night mulling over gift ideas for your sister-in-law’s best friend’s uncle, heeding these guidelines will have you sugarplum-visioning in no time.

What’s your best white elephant gift?

About WhiteElephantInTheRoom

I'm an 80s music lover, traveling junkie, mac & cheese connoisseur, amateur wine snob, party-planning priestess and Chicago transplant living in Southern California. I find adventure in the everyday and have a unending compulsion to write about it. Hope you enjoy reading my mind!
This entry was posted in Commentary, Family, Food, Friends, Health, Holidays, Home, Humor, Life, Movies, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to White Elephant

  1. stevebetz says:

    Excellent ideas. My cookie-baking skillz are not gift-worthy (unless you target disliked people with not-gifts), so I usually get the bottle of wine. I usually try not to get them from Costco, because most of random gifts I get are from Costco, so I want to look like I put an extra 14 seconds of thought into mine.

  2. xdeviantonex says:

    Well then! I was going to get you this, but looks like a candle will have to do! 😉
    Nice post lady!

  3. lexy3587 says:

    I’ve gotten, mysteriously, two separate scrapbooking kits. I’ve regifted both since then, to people who came out and said, “cool scrapbook kit. I could really use one of those.” but have yet to figure out what it is in me that my various aunts see that strikes them as scrapbooky.
    My sister once got a book from a close friend – a book we already owned, in a genre my sister didn’t read. When she apologetically mentioned the previous ownership, the girl replied with, “I didn’t get it for your family, I got it for you.” Gee, thanks.

  4. Jezzmindah says:

    “White Elephant” Finally a short and pithy phrase for what I have, until this point, simply termed “landfill waiting to happen”

  5. I have been to a few white elephant parties and most of the time the gifts that were being stolen the most were anything out of the ordinary. Usually something you don’t see every day that is still somewhat useful. With a gift limit of only $10, I was amaze at all the weird and wacky things I could get while keeping my bank account happy. I found this online store while doing a Google search containing many things that are just perfect for a white elephant party. The link is below and hopefully this helps with your future white elephant gift parties!
    http://www.thinkfuntoys.com/blog/funny-white-elephant-gift-ideas/

Leave a Reply

