Technology was not in the Fairytale

As little girls often do, I once made a list of all the qualities I hoped to find in my Prince Charming. He would be handsome, kind, good to his mother, intelligent, a total smart ass, and a diehard romantic. The fairytale included lots of flowers for no reason, vacations to faraway lands, and a few requisite rides on white steeds.

This fairytale illusion suited me quite well for years. There were Valentines aplenty in grade school, some solid amateur poetry along with a few swap-out-Amanda/Rosanna/Jenny/other-random-girl’s-name-for-mine guitar ballads in high school, and my college boyfriend once gave me flowers “because it’s Tuesday.” I felt solidly prepped for the grown up dating world and the Disney-esque guy with perfect hair from a neighboring kingdom who would surely come with it.

But then an evil villain cast a dark shadow across the land; and this villain looks a lot like a big old cell phone with a Facebook app. Not so long ago, when I liked a guy enough to give him my number, I looked forward to his call the next day so we could plan to meet again. Now, all I have to get excited about is a friend request and a five-beers-to-the-wind text that says “what up.” We treat a Facebook poke like it’s a box of Godiva, and we carefully evaluate the number of characters in a message to determine the likelihood a guy is smitten.

Call me old fashioned, but I miss the good old days when a guy would actually call my house and politely ask my mother if he could “please speak to Beth.” I even miss when he would later come to my door and had to meet Dad before I was allowed to go to the movies. It was a valuable screening process that has been poorly replaced by social media “stalking” and the ever-romantic “come on down I’m outside” text.

I suppose I’ll have to accept the fact that my prince might be a little different than the tall dark and handsome cartoon-in-a-cape I imagined as a kid. I can amend my list to include more important qualities like “uses emoticons sparingly” or “doesn’t have a ‘Bringing Sexy Back’ ringtone.” And if I happen to come across a guy whose Foursquare check-in history includes, “Awesome Castle in France,” I’ll figure out how to make happily ever after work.

About WhiteElephantInTheRoom

I'm an 80s music lover, traveling junkie, mac & cheese connoisseur, amateur wine snob, party-planning priestess and Chicago transplant living in Southern California. I find adventure in the everyday and have a unending compulsion to write about it. Hope you enjoy reading my mind!
This entry was posted in Commentary, Family, Friends, Humor, Life, Love, Mobile, Nostalgia, Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Technology was not in the Fairytale

  1. doctorforyou says:

    This makes me happy to be married. I had a cell phone before getting married, but Facebook had yet to make its debut. Though I think that romance is still out there, it is just harder to find through the easiness of instant messaging. But Cinderella would have been a whole different story if it had included technology.

  2. kitchenmudge says:

    Easy for him to send you a .gif of a pumpkin turning into a coach, though.

  3. xdeviantonex says:

    There are still men out there that fit most of your criteria, and they are just fed up by inconsiderate and or shallow females.
    You are an intelligent individual which in today’s mentality of jersey shore and kardashians, is a rare find.

    I hope you find your knight, prince or just quirky joker that makes you happy. Good ones deserve that!

Leave a Reply

